The awesome!

It’s All Relative, When It’s A Relative

I'm Going To College!

Relatives can be the worst offenders of ageism.  After months of not returning my emails or phone calls, my sister called to ask me to make a Halloween costume for her kid.  I patiently explained (once more) that I have a heavy schedule this semester, Rachel’s busy schedule (which still includes me), and I get Ethan off to school in the morning, leaving precious little time for anything else.  This launched a barrage of laughter on her part.  Why would I go to college at my age?  Did I not get  a decent pension?  What did I need education for, it is not like I will ever have to get a job again?  Why can’t I just enjoy retirement like a normal person?  She informed me that everyone (in the family) was laughing at me, you know, ‘crazy Sharan’ who thinks she is a college student at 57 years old. …

View original post 720 more words

2 responses

  1. Thank you so much for re-blogging this post! I am fascinated by new uses for social media and will visit this blog often!

    October 23, 2012 at 11:26 pm

    • I appreciate the effort thank you very much…

      October 25, 2012 at 6:10 pm

Leave a Reply

